A Filipino Developers Community

binding ip addresses to a single machine

rated by 0 users
This post has 10 Replies | 0 Followers

Top 100 Contributor
Posts 15
Points 485
ladyannebug Posted: 11-07-2006 7:27 PM
hi! can anyone tell me how to bind 2 ip addresses in one machine? lets say i have a test server with ip address 111.111.111.1.. i have to run two application servers (domino server and websphere app server) on it.. in order for them to run on the same port (80), i need to bind a secondary ip address 111.111.1.2 to the machine..  a friend suggested to use either of these 2 ways: (1) hosts file and (2) dns..  but i cant find any resources on the net that discusses its "how-to"...

any advice will be appreciated.. i needed it badly.. btw, im a java programmer and have no knwledge of these configurations whatsoever.. thnx in advnce..
The most likely way for the world to be destroyed is by accident. That's where we come in: We're computer professionals, we cause accidents!
  • | Post Points: 35
Top 10 Contributor
Posts 835
Points 10,775
Is this the one you're lookign for? http://www.microsoft.com/technet/archive/winntas/deploy/confeat/12wntpcb.mspx?mfr=true?

btw, asl? :)

• | Post Points: 20
Top 10 Contributor
Posts 2,038
Points 42,045

ladyannebug:
hi! can anyone tell me how to bind 2 ip addresses in one machine? lets say i have a test server with ip address 111.111.111.1.. i have to run two application servers (domino server and websphere app server) on it.. in order for them to run on the same port (80), i need to bind a secondary ip address 111.111.1.2 to the machine..  a friend suggested to use either of these 2 ways: (1) hosts file and (2) dns..  but i cant find any resources on the net that discusses its "how-to"...

any advice will be appreciated.. i needed it badly.. btw, im a java programmer and have no knwledge of these configurations whatsoever.. thnx in advnce..